Salmon Patty Tutorial

Today I took another step in “eating myself out of house and home” 

I’m making a Salmon Burger for lunch. It will use up canned salmon from my pantry and burger bun from the freezer.

Doing a tutorial will give me the opportunity to showcase some of the kitchen tools I have acquired while thrifting. Everything in this photo is pre-owned except the knife and glass bowl. (I have lots of thrifted bowls but I wanted one you could see through for this tutorial)

Image

burger press,  portion scoop, cheese slicer, pancake turner, cutting board, cast iron skillet

 

Image

I use a non-recipe when I make these patties. Just drain a can of salmon. Put it in a bowl with an egg, chopped onion and some breadcrumbs, add seasonings of your choice. I use dill, garlic powder, and a smidge of seasoning salt.

Image

Get in there with your fingers and smush it all together.

Image

I read on Frugal Girls blog that the liners from cereal boxes can be repurposed, so I cut circles to keep the individual patties from sticking together.

Image

Using a burger press makes nice uniform patties but you can mold your patties by hand if you don’t have one. Eat now or store in the freezer for future use.

 Image

Put a little fat of your choice (oil, butter or my favorite bacon fat) in a skillet and fry the patty until golden brown on both sides

If you don’t follow Katy the Non-consumer you should check out this post about cast iron skillets :

http://thenonconsumeradvocate.com/2008/06/a-love-letter-to-my-cast-iron-skillet

Image

Add a slice of cheese.

Image

Toast a bun, add tartar sauce and lettuce and enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

