Easy Corn and Crab Chowder

As you know I’m attempting to reduce the stockpile of foodstuffs that I have in my pantry and freezer by “eating myself out of house & home”. If you remember the list of food in my freezer you know it included imitation crab. Years ago I had a crab quiche recipe that I really liked but of course crabmeat isn’t frugal, so I used imitation crab. Some time back I saw imitation crabmeat on sale at Grocery Outlet. I’m not sure how big the original piece was but I still have a pound or so left, after using it for several different things. Unfortunately I can’t find the old quiche recipe and although I’ve tried a few crab quiche recipes that I found on line none were as tasty as that one. When I set my mind on eating all the freezer food I searched again on line for crab recipes and found this one at allrecipies.com. It made a very tasty soup so I decided to share it with my readers.

 Image

 

Easy Corn and Crab Chowder

1 russet potato, peeled and cubed (I didn’t peel mine)

5 slices of bacon, diced

½ onion, chopped

1 (6oz) can crabmeat, drained

½ tea. Parsley flakes

2 TBL. Butter

1/3 C. flour

¼ C. dry white wine (I used cooking sherry)

1 cube chicken bouillon

1-1/2 C. milk

1 (15oz.) can cream style corn

salt and pepper to taste

  1. Wrap the potato cubes in plastic wrap and microwave for 30 seconds, set aside. (I did this but the potato was still crunchy in the finished soup so I’d change the 30 seconds to until almost soft)
  2. In a sauté pan, cook bacon over medium heat until heated through, add the chopped onion. Cook and stir until the onions are clear. Stir in crabmeat and parsley flakes. Set aside.
  3. Meanwhile, melt the butter in a large stockpot over low heat. Whisk in flour until the mixture becomes creamy and takes on an eggshell color. Continue to cook for a few more minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in wine. Dissolve the bouillon in milk; when the flour mixture is crumbly, slowly whisk in the milk. Mix well in order to eliminate lumps.
  4. When the mixture is creamy and hot stir in bacon mixture, potato, and creamed corn. Season to taste and simmer for 10 minutes.

 

FYI imitation crab is made by processing mild tasting fish such as Pollock to look and taste like crab.

 

I hope you enjoy this soup as much as I did. Do you have a favorite crab recipe that you want to share so I can use up the rest of my imitation crabmeat.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

