A plea for DIY help

 

Saturday St. Vincent de Paul had a half price sale. EVERYTHING in the store 50 % off!

I perused the whole store and found only two small items totaling $1.59, and that was at full price. Then I took a look in the furniture room. Where I found this.

Image

My guess is that this end table dates back to the 30’s or 40’s. I only base that on a hunch though.

 

 The table lacked a price tag. When I asked an employee he said $7.99. To clarify I asked, “You mean $4?”, when he nodded I said “I’ll take it! “

This little table is built well and is in pretty good shape EXCEPT the non-skit pad is melded into the finish on the top of the table.

Image

I really don’t want to go to the effort of completely refinishing this gem.

 

Do any of you DIYers have a suggestion for me?

 

To restate the situation, the finish on the table has dissolved; there are indents in it from the non-skid.

 

Is it possible to just refinish or paint the top? Which would you suggest?

Most of the table appears to be solid wood but the top is veneer. Four sections with the grain forming a diamond pattern. (I hope my word picture is understandable)

 

One thought  using contact paper to give it a faux marble top. What do you think?

 

All suggestions are welcome.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in furniture refinishing, thrifty fixes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A plea for DIY help

  1. Kitty says:

    Enjoying your blog. I too am a frugal spinsterish (divorced 30 years — don’t even remember him!). I would use a product called Goo-Gone, which should lift the rubbery stuff. Then, I would first try your contact paper idea. If you don’t like that, you can paint or tile the top. Hope this helps.

  2. I was wondering if you ever got this table refinished? I just happened to find this post today.

Leave a Reply

