I’m going to take a new approach to reporting my progress as I “Eat Myself out of House and Home”.

 In the past I posted monthly reports but doing so hasn’t been as motivating as I hoped it would be. I find that my enthusiasm wanes between reports.

So the new plan of action is to write a post each time I use something from my stash.

I emptied a bag of oatmeal and as I was tossing the oatmeal bag in the compost I saw a recipe for Chocolate Revel Bars on the back. Noting that the recipe calls for chocolate chips and sweetened condensed milk, two if the things I want to eliminate from my stockpile, I decided to bake up a batch.

If you like rich, gooey, chocolaty treats you’re sure to enjoy these.

 

 

While retrieving the sweetened condensed milk from the pantry I saw that I had just enough French Fried Onion Rings left to make a batch of Green Bean Casserole.

 

Besides emptying the onion rings I eliminated one more can of mushroom soup from my stash.

 

I have found recipes for both Sweetened Condensed Milk and Mushroom soup (but haven’t tried either one yet). In the past these two products were pantry essentials but if the homemade versions work out they will never clutter my cupboards again.

 

If any of you have made your own condensed milk or soup I’d be interested in hearing how it worked out for you

 

My original stash of 9 cans of mushroom soup is down to 4

I’ve cut my stock of Sweetened condensed Milk in half.

 

 

Chocolate Reval Bars

3 cups oatmeal

2 ½ C flour

1 tea. Baking soda

1 tea salt

1 c margarine (I used butter)

2 c packed brown sugar

2 eggs

2 tea vanilla

 

 

1 can (14oz.) sweetened condensed milk

2 tea. Vanilla

½ tea salt

1 ½ c chocolate chips

2 Tbl. Margarine

½ C chopped walnuts

Combine oats, flour, soda and 1 tea. Salt.

Beat 1 C margarine, brown sugar, eggs and 2 tea. vanilla until fluffy.

Stir dry ingredients gradually into beaten mixture until well combined.

In a saucepan over low heat (I did this in the microwave) combine sweetened condensed milk, chocolate chips, 2 tbl. margarine and ½ tea. salt. Stir in walnuts and 2 tea. vanilla.

Pat 2/3 of the oat mixture into the bottom of a lightly greased 9×13 pan. Spread chocolate mixture over the dough.

Dot with remaining oat mixture.

Bake at 350 degrees for 35-45 minutes.

Cool on wire rack.

Cut into bars.

This entry was posted in eat yourself out of house & home, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

