Eat Yourself out of House and home

Its time for another progress report on my effort to eat my way through the stockpiles of food I have in my house. In my pantry I found:

chili seasoning,  beans and home canned tomatoes.

 I purchased:

tomato sauce and ground beef, notice I got my burger from the reduced for quick sale bin. 79 cents per pound.

I put them all together and had chili and cornbread for dinner.

 I have had the cornbread stick pan for a long time but never used it. I was weeding out a bunch of recipes that I had clipped from magazines. I came across one for cornbread sticks.

I had to make a half batch because I only have a pan with 7 sticks. Being an experienced baker I didn’t bother to read the directions. I mixed the dry ingredients in one bowl, in another bowl I mixed the wet ingredients and then gently mixed them together like I would for any quick bread/muffin recipe. despite not following the directions they came out just fine. I might reduce the baking powder a little next time they have a bit of after taste especially when they are fresh. I didn’t notice it the following day when I ate leftovers.

This entry was posted in eat yourself out of house & home, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eat Yourself out of House and home

  1. Oh wow! I won’t complain about hamburger prices anymore! I bought some on sale last night for about $2.50 a pound. Regular price runs about $3.50 a pound for the 80/20, which is the best we can get at our store.

Leave a Reply

