Book Review- Cheap Appetit

I can’t remember how I stumbled across Karen McLaughlin’s blog “Abundance on a Dime”. I do know that I got hooked on it when I saw that she posts weekly about the treasures she finds while bicycling from garage sale to garage sale. 

By following her blog I learned that she has written a book, “Cheap Appetit” http://abundanceonadime.blogspot.ca/p/cheap-appetit-my-book.html 

Being the frugal soul that I am, I didn’t run right out and purchase a copy. I put in a request to purchase at my local library. The library did add Karen’s book to their collection and I was first in line to check it out.

I hesitate to call this a cookbook although there are dozens of tempting recipes in it. In my opinion the best part of the book comes first where Karen shares the principles of feeding a family on a limited budget. For years I have shared many of Karen’s philosophies on shopping and meal preparation but even with all my years of frugality some of her pointers were new to me. I think everyone would benefit from reading Cheap Appetit. It would be especially beneficial to those new to the concept of household management and meal preparation.

So far I’ve tried four of her recipes:Rhubarb Streusel Muffins

http://abundanceonadime.blogspot.ca/2008/06/recipe-rhubarb-muffins.html 

There is nothing to compare to any baked good fresh & warm from the oven. However I believe that these Rhubarb muffins are equally delicious the next day when the moisture of the fruit has permeated the breadiness of the muffin.

Parmesan Baked Fish

I’m trying to work more fish & seafood into my diet and this was a very tasty way to prepare flounder fillets.

Raspberry Cream cheese Squares http://abundanceonadime.blogspot.ca/2010/08/recipe-raspberry-cream-cheese-squares.html

I had blackberry jam to use up so I made a substitute for the raspberry jam called for in the recipe. These are really delicious and rich. The texture is similar to a brownie with cheesecake on top. Mmm, Mmm. 

I make my granola from Karen’s recipe too. http://abundanceonadime.blogspot.ca/2010/12/gifts-from-kitchen-christmas-granola.html

Again I tweak it a bit for my personal taste. I add flax seed and use almonds instead of pumpkin seeds.

I add raisins and milk at mealtime.

I also eat granola sprinkled on yogurt. 

I have a long list of other recipes from the book that I hope to try including;

Corn Chowder

Cream of Tomato soup

Potato, cheddar, bacon soup

Lentil burgers  (I’ve been looking for a tasty recipe for homemade Garden Burgers for a long time)

Morning Glory Muffins

Spinach & Parmesan Pasta Bake

Creamy Tuna pasta with peas & carrots

And Turkey Pinwheels.

 (but most likely I won’t do that until after I finish eating myself out of house & home)

I encourage you all to read Cheap Appetit by Karen McLaughlin.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

