Bistro Set DIY

Many years ago I tore this page from a catolog because I thought this bistro set was sooooo cute.

$199 for the table and another $99 for the chair was waaaay more than I was willing to spend.

I began reading books on painted furniture and kept a watchful eye out for a table and chair I could transform.

The alley behind the building where I work has been a treasure trove to me in many ways. This is just one of them. Apparently lots of the businesses in the complex dump unwanted stuff back there.

Sorry I don’t have a picture of the table in its original state but the top was wood grained and detached, the legs were in good shape, only missing a nut. 

I was still on the hunt for a chair when I saw this one at a “Shabby Chic” store.

 At about half of the catalog price it was still too expensive for my frugal bones. It took a few years but eventually I found this at a garage sale. 

$3.00 now that’s my price range.

I came across a roll of hydrangea printed wallpaper at a thrift store and decided rather than painting I’d decoupage the floral design.

The outcome …

 I didn’t keep detailed records but I estimate I spent $25-$30.

It took some sweat equity and I had to delay gratification.

Personally I get more gratification from seeing how inexpensively I can do a project like this than I would from running out and buying it as soon as it caught my eye.

 

This entry was posted in furniture refinishing, Second Hand Shopping, Trash to Treasure and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bistro Set DIY

  1. Those turned out fabulously! And I know what you mean about the thrill of doing it for far, far less.
    It looks like it’s in a sheltered spot right now. Will it come inside for the winter? Did you add a coat of varnish on top of the Mod Podge?

    • The bistro set really lives in the master bedroom. It was outside just to have it’s picture taken.
      I’m keeping a watchful eye out for a 28-3/4 inch piece of glass. (like thats ever going to turn up)

Leave a Reply

