Thrifty Finds

I haven’t shown off my thrifted treasures for a while so let me tell you about the deals I’ve found.

I pass this thrift store every time I visit my brother but I never noticed it before.

It is a small shop, stuffed to the gills, making it hard to shop in,  but it is staffed by dear senior citizens who are adorable. I bought this collie because when I was a baby we had a white collie named Speedy. I don’t remember him, but I have heard lots of stories. 

I have been looking for a doorstop for quite some time.

I considered this one.

And this one

 

But daffodils are my favorite flowers and at $2.99 this one was the right price.

Here it is propping the door to my sewing room open. 

I have never seen anything like this before. I think they may be one of those “As seen on TV” products pitched by the likes of Billy Mays.

They work great to keep hangers from blowing off the clothesline.

At a garden center, I once saw a display of “Hens & Chicks” with a statue of a chicken sitting in the pot. This little girl was just 75 cents and will look great when my planter fills out.

Years ago I bought the first of these leaf shaped salad plates. They also had the salad bowl but I decided to only get the plates. I have regretted that decision ever since. From time to time I have come across the bowl but it was either damaged or too expensive but I was finally able to complete my set and it was only $2.00.If you’ve been reading A Frugal Spinster from the start you may remember my bird ornament collection.These two were in separate bags of mixed ornaments. I asked the cashier if I could just purchase the two birds for $2.49 (the higher priced bag). To my delight she said yes. Now there are two more birds flying around my fireplace.I wanted so badly to bring this lamb footrest home with me but ultimately thought better of it.

This entry was posted in Second Hand Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thrifty Finds

  1. I’m going to see if I can fin this Shoreline Sr. Center Thrift. I’m in the Shoreline area from time to time. Looks like they have a lot of treasures!

  2. those were some great finds. I love the birds over your fireplace.

  3. Because I recently found your blog and enjoy it so much I have nominated you for the Liebster Award.

    • there are lots of things that I don’t know about blogging. One of them is I’ve never heard about the Liebster Award. What is it for?

      • Thank you for the laugh, I was just like you a couple of months ago. I received a note telling me I’d won an award and had no idea what to do, it it was some spam or what.

        The awards are like a chain letter, they are a way of introducing more people to each others blogs. Not everyone participates, but I find them fun. You are free to continue, or ignore it. Don’t feel pressured to play along, I just wanted to let you know I enjoy your blog by nominating you.

Leave a Reply

