My Frugal Birthday

My friend Ann Marie and I sorted through my life list to see what might be easy to find that would put me over 300 before the end of 2012. In doing so we realized that I had several species listed twice. It seems they didn’t make much of an impression on me the first time I saw it so when I saw it a second time I listed it as a life bird again. So instead of 297 I’m actually at 294.

We birders share iformation on rare bird sightings with each other via the Internet. A man, about 40 minutes away from me, posted that he has had a Summer Tanager coming to his feeder for the past couple of days. This is the range map of a Summer Tanager.summer_tanager_map

 I live in the Pacific Northwest. As you can see this bird has somehow gotten way out of his normal territory. Not to mention that in December Summer Tanagers should be wintering in South America.summer tanager

But here he was. The picture is a little blurry. We had to take pictures through the kitchen window for fear of scaring it away.

After seeing what turns out to be life bird #295. I stopped at Starbucks for my FREE Birthday Coffee.starbucksI picked up the dogs, and went to the park.

some for usThey were sure I had something to share with them. Sorry girls this Caramel Brule’e is all for me.

I met up with my friend Corina who also walks her dog at the park and we had a nice visit as the dogs played and sniffed together.

In the evening my sister took me out for a birthday dinner at an Italian restaurant. Very delicious.

What a nice birthday it was.

This entry was posted in Bird watching, Dog walking, family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Frugal Birthday

  1. Sounds like a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

