Laundry day

For years I’ve been purchasing a super sized box of laundry detergent. 26.4 pounds/ 275 loads. I felt it has served me well. It was a good choice because I didn’t need to be replenishing my stock very often. Thereby reducing trips to the store and avoiding excessive packaging.

I come from frugal stock; frugality is ingrained in my personality. Even so in the past few years I have learned more and more about wise money and environmental choices. I began to do laundry exclusively in cold water. It was then that I discovered that the detergent I was using didn’t completely dissolve, leaving little white flakes behind even after a long rinse cycle.

Many of the blogs I read have had posts about homemade laundry soap. I was anxious to finish my mega-box so I could give it a try, especially after I picked up a bar of Fels-Naptha soap for 50 cents at a thrift store.

Mostly I was finding recipes for a liquid form of home-made soap but Katy at the Non-consumer advocate uses a dry version. The dry formula seemed like less fuss so I went with it.IMG_3304

Today was my first opportunity to try it out. I ran a load of lights.

IMG_3302(That’s white vinegar in the Downy ball)

I’ll reserve judgment until I’ve run it through the paces more but I’m pleased with today’s results. There was no residue of the soap left behind even though I used cold water. The laundry came out of the dryer fresh & clean. I can hardly wait for the sun to return so I can dry stuff outside again.

 

 

Have you tried homemade laundry products?

What do you use? Dry or liquid?

How do you feel about the results?

This entry was posted in single living frugal style and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Laundry day

  1. Margo says:

    Would you share the recipe?

  2. 2 parts grated fels-naptha
    1 part washing soda
    1 part boraxo
    I grated up my bar in the food processer it was just under 2 cups so I mixed it with one cup each of washing soda and boraxo
    all three ingreediants can be found on the laundry soap aisle at the grocery store

  3. birdlybird says:

    How have you found the laundry detergent? I’ve been making my own for almost three years now and I find it keeps my blacks black for a hell of a lot longer than any other detergent, it smells amazing, my pets aren’t allergic to the scent, and I rarely need to use a whitener 🙂

    • After two batches of home-made detergent I went back to Store-bought. The homemade version left a residue behind. What recipe do you use?

      • birdlybird says:

        My recipe is really simple and I haven’t. It iced any residue, only very occasionally some of the soap flakes don’t completely dissolved but that might be an overloading of washing machine issue.

        The recipe is just soap flakes, washing soda and borax. I bought soap flakes and didn’t grate.

  4. Humm, I think I’ll give that a try. I still have Washing soda and Borax to use up.

Leave a Reply

