20 year old sweater

I’ve owned this gray Shaker-Knit sweater for more than 20 years. Who knows how old it really is because I purchased it second-hand. It has served me very well. It’s warm, comfortable and the neutral gray color makes it very versatile.

Shaker knit sweater

Shaker knit sweater

This weekend when I laundred it I noticed that a hole is developing in one of the elbows. I’m sad to see it nearing the end of it’s useful life. I could sew on Mr. Rogers style leather patches but I’m sure they would be more that I paid for the sweater in the first place.

elbow hole

My wardrobe is well stocked. I seldom even look at the clothing when I’m thrifting but now I’ll be on the lookout for a new(er) gray pull-over.

This entry was posted in Second Hand Shopping, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 20 year old sweater

  1. I love that you’ve had this so long. If it were me I’d stitch it together and try to hide the wear to keep it even longer as it looks warm and comfortable, my two requirements for winter clothes.

  2. Pingback: Favorite posts for this Friday | livingsimplyfree

  3. I have nominated you for Versatile http://blueribbonfair.blogger and Very Inspiring Blogger award.To follow up see: http://blueribbonfair.wordpress.com/?p=1354&preview=true

Leave a Reply

