Syrup

I purchased real maple syrup for the first time in my life.
I wanted to try Frugal girl’s no-stir Clumalisious granola recipe. http://www.thefrugalgirl.com/2012/09/no-stir-clumpalicious-granola/
Being a key ingredient, I wanted to use the real thing when I made my first batch.
I chose the smallest and cheapest bottle on the grocery shelf. I was shocked by the price, $6.99 for 8 oz.
Perhaps the price varies regionally. Here on the west coast I’m far away from where sugar maple trees grow.
At any rate I thought I’d share what I usually do when it comes to syrup.

My go-to recipe comes from the label of the Mapleine.
(Mapleine is imitation maple flavor sold on the spice aisle.) mapleine @store

MAPLE FLAVORED SYRUP

1 Cup water
2 Cups sugar (I use brown sugar)
½ tea. Mapleine.

Boil the water. Add sugar. Stir to dissolve. Add Mapleine

Cost comparison:Log cabinLog cabin is 16¢/ oz. And Home-made comes in at less than half the price at 7¢/oz.buttermilk syrup

Occasionally I want a different flavor then I make:

BUTTERMILK SYRUP
(do NOT double this recipe)

1 Tablespoon corn syrup
1 Cup sugar
¾ Cup buttermilk
1 teaspoon baking soda
¼ Cup butter or margarine
¼ teaspoon Vanilla extract

Using a large saucepan bring all ingredients to a boil and stirring until the mixture is a golden brown color (it will foam and boil up, this is normal)

FRUIT SYRUPfruit syrup @ store
The only time I use fruit syrup is when I have jam that didn’t set the way it’s supposed to.
french toast & apricot sryupP.S. I have learned that the key to getting the jam to set is make sure to boil it long enough. When the recipe says boil at full rolling boil for one minute I do two just to make sure.

If you don’t already make your own syrup I encourage you to give it a try.
If you do make your own pancake syrup, tell me what recipe do you use?

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Syrup

  1. Ooh, I get mine at Aldi, where it’s about $3. Do you have an Aldi near you?

  2. Hi frugal spinster,
    I make my own syrup, too, using a restaurant supply brand of maple extract. For those rare occasions when I do buy real maple syrup, I’ve bought it at Trader Joe’s and the Marshall’s (in the gourmet food section) by Alderwood Mall. I haven’t priced Wal-Mart for maple syrup. That may be a good place to look, too.

    I’ve never heard of buttermilk syrup before. That sounds interesting.

    Many years ago, I tried to make blackberry jelly (with our wild blackberries around here), not jam, but jelly. Well, blackberries are low pectin, but I didn’t realize that. What I wound up with, in trying to make this jelly, is 1 gallon of blackberry pancake syrup. It reminded me of Knott’s boysenberry syrup, very good, but a gallon lasts a very long time!

    Hope your granola turns out well!

  3. Lisa says:

    I live in the land of maple syrup so it’s all real for us. It’s still about $32/gallon, but I know where it comes from and who makes it.

Leave a Reply

