He Is Risen Indeed

finalThe tomb is empty

Jesus lives forever more

The stone’s been rolled away

There is life beyond death’s door

He is risen as he promised

Let the victory chorus swell

The tomb is empty

and Jesus is alive and well

(Lyrics to a song, I’d love to give credit where credit is due but I can’t find who wrote it)

On Tuesday of this week Heather from Feel Good about Dinner shared this Resurrection Day centerpiece idea. http://www.feelgoodaboutdinner.com/2013/03/menu-plan-for-week-of-march-24.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+FeelGoodAboutDinner+%28Feel+Good+About+Dinner%29

She got the idea from Kristen at We are that Family. http://wearethatfamily.com/2012/03/diy-mini-resurrection-garden/

Kristen found it on Pintrest (I stay away from Pintrest I know it would suck me in)

resurrection gardenI immediately wanted to make one for myself. But, with a few modifications, the main one being to make it at minimal cost.

Looking through my potting supplies I came up with a tiny plastic seed-starter pot ,a terracotta saucer and some grass seed.

My tiny pot is only 2” in diameter and the saucer is 6” so I would have to scale everything back.

I could foresee two problems. Both involved the grass. With less than a week before the big day, would the grass grow in time? Secondly would grass be out of proportion in my scaled back version?

I headed out to my neighborhood park in search of inspiration and building materials.

A creek runs through the park. I knew the streambed would offer lots of rocks to choose from. While I was there it occurred to me that moss would make a great grass replacement. I also collected some pea gravel, sand, twigs and a couple of sprigs of lichen.

supplies_3987I built Mt. Calvary with the sand.

Put my sepulchre in place.

Made a gravel path.

Placed the stone in front of the grave.

Covered the hill with moss.

Planted the lichen so it looks like shrubbery.

Then used hot glue to made three crosses from the twigs. 

  red sepulchre_4002I was happy with the outcome except for one thing. It bothered me that the empty tomb looked like a flowerpot.

I disassembled the whole thing; spray painted the inside of the flowerpot black and reassembled it. Ah, much better!

Total cost $0.00!

This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, container gardening and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He Is Risen Indeed

  1. Lisa says:

    I love your take on this idea! I live where it is too cold to go out and collect nature items at Easter as they are often still covered with snow. However, I could totally collect these items ahead of time to assemble for next year!

  2. I did this last year. So neat.

Leave a Reply

