Swim Shoes

Sometimes second hand shopping can be a S-L-O-W process. It can take months to find what you want, in good condition, for a price you’re willing to pay.

Last Friday my sister told me one of her foster girls needed a pair of swim shoes. She told me her size and asked me to keep an eye out for them while I was thrifting?

The very next day I stopped at 3 thrift stores on my way home from work. Eastside Community Aid and Value Village share a parking lot so it wasn’t like I did a lot of driving from store to store. At ECA they were having a half off everything sale. I found a pair that were marked $1.75. That made them 88 cents. However I was looking for size 3 and the shoes were size 12.

Having never shopped for children I am unfamiliar with sizing. The size 12 looked smaller not bigger than the size 3 I needed for a 9 year old.

Across the lot to Value Village I went- Nothing there.

St. Vincent’s is only a mile down the street from my house so on the way home I swung in for a look see.

BINGO!

SVdP $3.99 5-11-13 

$4.99 but I had a 20% off coupon, making them $3.99.

A summer of fun awaits.

I just love it when a need arises and the thrift stores “just happen” to have what I’m looking for on my next visit.  It’s such a blessing. I wish I had recorded all the other times its happened.

Did you ever find just what you needed, just when you needed it? Tell me about it in the comments.

This entry was posted in Second Hand Shopping, third thursday thrifting report and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swim Shoes

  1. Great find!

    Once I broke the dish part of a casserole dish and lid. I was stuck with just a lid for several months. Then I thought to check VV and sure enough, they had the dish and not the lid!

  2. You just reminded me of another of my “right time, right place” experiances. I broke the lid to my crock pot and my very next stop at a thrift store provided me with a lid that fits perfectly.

Leave a Reply

