Can you believe it? I spent $50 at a Thrift Store,

The Pacific Northwest has been experiencing a HEAT WAVE. Something like 17 days in a row in the 80+degrees range. We’re talking the Pacific Northwest, “it always rains in Seattle”. 

Yes, I’m a weather wimp. I start complaining if the mercury goes over 75o.

My home has a covered back porch. It’s been a wonderful place to spend these HOT evenings.
Ah, the simple pleasures of life.  Sitting on the porch listening to the birds sing, watching the sunset, I can’t think of anything I’d rather do or anywhere I’d rather be.

 

Today clouds moved in from the Pacific Ocean. I don’t think the temperature made it past 70. Still it’s a lovely evening to sit on the porch and listen to the Mariners and Angels play baseball.

 4591fireplace close up

Days like these are why I recently added a “fireplace” It’s not a real fireplace but an electric heater. I found it at St. Vincent de Paul. At $49.99 it had an outrageously high price tag. (Most of my thrift store purchases are under $5) I thought about playing my wait & see game where I hope the item I want will still be available on SVdP’s monthly ½ price day. However I realized how perfect it would be as a replacement for the vintage Colman Heater I’m currently using. It looks like its brand new. So I swallowed hard and handed over my $50.

Later I did a search on the internet and found it’s worth $129.

4646fireplace

Now if you’ll excuse me I’m heading out back to sit by the fireplace.

What’s your average Thrift store bill come to?

Leave me a comment telling me the most expensive thing you ever thrifted.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

