Easy Cheap Bread crumbs

I recently saw bread crumbs on the grocery store shelf. It had never occurred to me that bread crumbs were an ingredient  to purchase. I thought everyone made their own like I do.

Name brand Progresso were on sale for $2.04progresso on shelf

marked down from $2.29

store shelves

the store brand were  on sale for $1.59.

1

When I need bread crumbs I collect stale bread, dry it out in a warm oven (or even let it air dry)3 food processor

I fit my food processor with the shredding blade.

2

Chop the bread to fit in the feeder shoot.

4 bread crumbs

Run the food processor, and Wa, La! bread crumbs.5 last

I store them in mason jars. If I want flavored bread crumbs, I just add some herbs.

I can think of several advantages.

1. less packaging

2. less expense

3. less food waste

Do you make your own bread crumbs?

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in cooking, single living frugal style and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

