Frugal and Generous

Doris posted an Offer: polar fleece scrap fabric on Freecycle recently.camel scraps freecycle

I responded that I’d love to have her scraps to make hats to donate to people on the streets.

I quickly got to work and her scraps became an assortment of warm hats.

camel scrap hats

This isn’t the first time I’ve made polar fleece hats.

I’m always on the look out for polar fleece when I’m thrifting.

10-1-13 vanishing pricesIMG_3614help hnd 3.27-12_9524

I’ve collected patterns that way too.Hat Patterns..IMG_3888 IMG_3688 IMG_3641

When I saw this tote full of yarn for $10 I decided to give knitting a try too.4-27-12 G sale_0103

In February when I was recovering from my broken wrist I spent a lot of time knitting.two tone browntwo tone blueIMG_3542 IMG_3881 IMG_5147

orange hat

I’ve made more than a few hats.

Operation Nightwatch60 HATS_9299I even picked up the wicker head at a garage sale for 50 cents.Garage sale 5-20-12_0387

My favorite ministries with outreach to Seattle’s homeless population are The Union Gospel Mission and Operation Nightwatch.

I challenge my readers to think of ways to bless others while remaining true to your frugal lifestyle too.

 

This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Second Hand Shopping, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frugal and Generous

  1. sewandsee says:

    Oh how very generous πŸ™‚

  2. verilyknits says:

    Wonderful hats πŸ™‚

  3. lilimounce says:

    Those hats will be sooo appreciated, Linda! I especially like the drop down over the ear styling for someone who has to be out in the cold 24/7.

    I love Union Gospel’s ministries. I haven’t heard of Nightwatch but will look them up.

  4. Pingback: Resolutions #6-9 | afrugalspinster

Leave a Reply

