Chicken as Afrugalspinster does it

Whole body fryers often go in sale for 99 cents/pound. Last week they were on sale for 88 Cents/#. I bought two. One to eat now and one to freeze.IMG_7547

I roasted the first chicken, you’ll just have to trust me on that, I took pictures but I CANNOT find them. not on the SD card, not in the computer, not in the recycle bin.

I’ll paint a word picture for you. In the background is a roast chicken with a few slices of breast meat missing. In the foreground you see a dinner plate with chicken, baked potato, broccoli, and salad. That’s meal #1

When I finished dinner I removed all the meat from the carcass and boiled it with some vegetables and the saved pan drippings. I portioned up the meat and over time I ended up with a total of 12 meals.

My favorite Chicken Casserole is Chicken Divan.divan w-saladI ate one portion (meal #2) and froze 5 (meals 3, 4, 5, 6 & 7)

Meal #8 Chicken Panini (that photo is missing too)

Chicken, bacon, tomato, cheddar and avocado on 8 grain sour dough bread, grilled in my Panini press waffle iron.

Meal #9 Chicken Salad sandwich.chicken salad makings

chicken salad sandwich

Meal #10 Chicken Florentine Soup, using leftover spinach from the freezer, my home made stock, leftover chicken and milk  powder.chic flo

Meal #11  Chicken Parmesan, made with leftover pizza sauce from the freezer.chix parm

Meal #12 Asian Chicken Saladasian chicken saladchicken, mandarin oranges, chow mien noodles and toasted almonds on a bed of lettuce

I used frugal girl’s recipe for Asian salad dressing.

A lot of singles eat out frequently because one main dish would last them for days and that can be very boring.

Frugal Spinster ate chicken based meals from that one chicken for 7 days (not counting the 5 portions of Chicken Divan in the freezer yet to be consumed) There was enough variety that I didn’t ever feel like I was having the same thing day in and day out.

 

This entry was posted in cooking, single living frugal style and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken as Afrugalspinster does it

  1. lilimounce says:

    That all looks delicious! Now I’m hungry!

Leave a Reply

