Corn Crusted Chicken Turnovers

Yesterday’s post told how I used leftover chicken meat to make Corn-crusted Chicken Turnovers.on serving platter I thought you may be interested in trying them for yourselves.

I’ve had the recipe for years. It was in Sunset magazine back in the late 70s or early 80s.

Original Sunset Illustration

Original Sunset Illustration

1 package (3 oz.) cream cheese

1 Tablespoon milk

1-1/4 Cup (3/4#) shredded cooked chicken

1 Cup (4 oz.) shredded Cheddar cheese

1 can (4 oz.)green chilies

1/4 Cup sliced green onions

1/2 teaspoon garlic salt

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

2 cups buttermilk baking mix

1/2 cup water

3 Tablespoons melted butter

1-1/3 cups crushed corn chips

Let cream cheese soften at room temperature. Mix it with the milk, chicken, Cheddar, chilies, onion, garlic salt and cumin; set aside.

Stir baking mix with water until blended. Turn onto a board dusted with baking mix; knead about 10 times to form ball. Roll out a 12×18″ rectangle; cut into 6″ squares.roll out dough Spoon 1/3 cup of the chicken mixture onto each square. Fold squares into triangles; press edges with fork to seal. Brush with melted butter, then press turnover into crushed chips to coat. bakePlace on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes or until golden.

Serves 6

I “TWEEK” almost every recipe I use. To adapt this to my frugal spinster lifestyle:

I omit the chilies (personal taste rather than frugality dictated this choice)

I substitute regular onions for the green onions most of the time.

I use a make-your-own version of buttermilk baking mix.

I increase the dough so I get 9 squares. (3 cups mix & 3/4 cup water)

1-1/3 cups of corn chips is WAY too much,  (they just fall off) 1/2 cup is fine.

I bake on a parchment covered cookie sheet. Cheese oozes out during baking and I don’t like scrubbing burnt cheese off my baking sheet.

I individually wrap the leftovers in (recycled) foil, label, and  bag for freezer.wrapfreeze

When I want to eat one of the frozen turnovers I reheat it in the toaster oven.chick TO in toaster oven

If you give this recipe a try let me know about it. I’d love to hear if you enjoy them as much as I do.

This entry was posted in recipes, single living frugal style and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Corn Crusted Chicken Turnovers

  1. susan trumbo says:

    You mentioned you make your own buttermilk baking mix – would you kindly share the recipe? I buy the stuff in the box with the additives and the occasional bug – would love to make my own. And your chicken turnovers look delicious !

Leave a Reply

