Chia Pets

If you watch any television at all you’ve heard the CH-Ch-cha Chia jingle. They are aired frequently throughout the holiday shopping season.

But did you know….Since being introduced in 1977 approximately 500,000 Chia Pets are sold annually. That’s 19,000,000 to date.

A good percentage of them turn up at second hand stores.

I am easily amused I guess but as I’m looking for things that I may need or want I almost always see some chia pet or another. I’ve taken to photographing them and have my own VIRTUAL collection of Chia pets.

We start with the older classic animals with green glaze on the heads.

Hippo $2.99

Hippo $2.99

Elephant $1.99

Elephant $1.99

Turtle $4.99

Turtle $4.99

Bear 99 Cents At least the original owner planted this one

Bear 99 Cents
At least the original owner planted this one

As anyone who watches Antiques Roadshow knows the original box increases the price.

Dog $1.00

Dog $1.00

Dog in box with BONUS Gift $4.29

Dog in box with BONUS Gift $4.29

IMG_2737

Cat $1.99

Cat $1.99

Cat in Box $3.99

Cat in Box $3.99

Frog $4.99

Frog $4.99

Rabbit $5.99

Rabbit $5.99

Dinosaur $3.99

Dinosaur $3.99

And as with any collectable there are always fakes on the market too.

Chia Cow $1.99

Chia Cow $1.99

Counterfeit Cow 75 cents

Counterfeit Cow 75 cents

Looks like a Jr. Hi Ceramics project to me, A+. Or is it a relic from an ancient South American temple?

I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing this part of my collection. To see the rest of my collection be watching for Chia posts in the future.

What do you find at the Second Hand Stores that tickles your fancy? Tell me about it in the comments, please.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chia Pets

  1. Susan says:

    I spotted a Scooby Doo chia at a consignment sale yesterday. Who knew!

Leave a Reply

