Window Covering

My Master bath still needs a covering for the window. After the shower curtain, there wasn’t enough fabric left for a curtain so for the past 3 years I’ve just had the leftover fabric hanging over a tension rod in the window.

a sorry excuse for a curtain

a sorry excuse for a curtain

My thrifting wish list has had  sheer green fabric on it ever since. Finally I found this.

drapery panel $3.99 at Goodwill

drapery panel $3.99 at Goodwill

As close in color as I could ever hope to get IMG_1076and plenty to work with (84″ x 39″)

My dilemma, what style window covering should I make?

Possibilities that have come to my mind:

A. make a valance of lace and sheer, with a sheer curtain mounted inside the window casing.(I have this I could mount above the window)

another thrifty find

another thrifty find

B.make a curtain of lace and sheer that is mounted above the window.

C.make a curtain mounted inside the casing and a valance mounted above, both made with lace over sheer.

Any design experts want to give me some help? Even if your not an expert please share your advice or recommendations. Is there another possibility I’m not even thinking of? Please leave your thought in a comment.

This entry was posted in DIY, Home Improvment, Household projects, Second Hand Shopping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Window Covering

  1. lilimounce says:

    Hmmm, hard to say.Other possibility — I like the tidy look of 2 tension rods, top and bottom of window, with a sheer panel, in a bathroom. But the steam/moisture build-up on the window would need to be wiped off daily. So, for that reason, I think I like your choice B, if it’s an all-in-one curtain, for ease of opening the curtain to clean off window, or for more natural light at the mirror on occasion.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

