Mr. Coffee

oops!!

This post should have appeared before yesterday’s post……

In the corner of my kitchen sits a Mr. Coffee maker that I acquired a few years ago from a Freecycler.brewing

Shortly after I got the coffee maker I picked up a second carafe at a second hand store. The second carafe afforded me the leisure of not having to wash the pot immediately.

I make myself a pseudo-mocha each morning to start my day. I’m by no means a coffee snob. I buy whatever brand is on sale. I doctor it up with so much chocolate syrup and creamer that no one would ever be able to tell if it was fresh or not. doctored upA pot of coffee lasts me 2-3 days. If not freshly brewed I just heat it in the microwave.microwaved When I empty the pot I may or may not have a full load of dishes to wash. By owning two carafes I always have a clean carafe ready to use the next morning.

While washing dishes on August 27th, I heard an ominous “chink” when I put a carafe into the sink. Sure enough I had broken one of the carafes.chip

I’m a patient person. I can wait for a bargain to come along.

It’s not unusual for me to incorporate a stop at one or more thrift store any time I’m running erands. This is especially true when I have a specific need. Every place I looked, the price was much higher than I had expected or wanted to pay.

August 28th I stopped at Heaven Sent- they had coffee pots but not like mine.

August 29th I saw this one at Goodwill

$5.99

$5.99

August 31st, St. Vincent de Paul didn’t have any loose pots but they did have this

$9.99

$9.99

Goodwill also had a coffee maker

$5.99

$5.99

September 10th Finding Treasures

Nothing here

Nothing here

Bella’s Voice

$12.99 & $7.99

$12.99 & $7.99

Goodwill

$7.99 & $9.99

$7.99 & $9.99

September 15th Value Village

Nothing here

Nothing here

Goodwill

Bingo!

Bingo!

hidden on the bottom shelf is a lidless 99 cent carafe that fits my coffee maker. Hallelujah!

I had saved the lid from the broken pot so this pot came home with me.

This entry was posted in Second Hand Shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

