Frugal House Numbers

When I had a covered back porch added to the my 3 bedroom rambler, I purchased not only the light fixtures for the porch but for the front of the house too. I didn’t want a hodge-podge of styles. The new lamps had just one drawback.  The one on the garage was so big that it obscured my house numbers. Every time I gave directions to my home I had to explain “its hard to see my house numbers”.

None of my local hardware stores had numbers that I liked. I looked at special order, but they were VERY expensive. I looked at thrift stores but what are the chances that I would find the right numbers? Eventually I came across these.

99 cents each

99 cents each

But I need 3 ones.

I bought them anyway planning to have two more 1s fabricated at Tap Plastic.

At Tap they used my thrifted number 1 as a template and made me two more. Those two 1s cost twice as much as all three thrifted numbers did. Still a bargain.

To make them stand out I planned to mount each number on a white rectangle before putting them  above my garage door.

A friend with a table saw turned a scrap of plywood into the rectangles.

scrap lumber & table saw

scrap lumber & table saw

I painted them white

watching paint dry

watching paint dry

The sheen on the fabricated numbers was a little different from the thrifted ones. At a distance it probably wouldn’t be noticed but just in case I used spray paint to unify the whole set.

matte black

can you see the difference?

I nailed my five white boards to the garage, using scraps of wood to space them evenly

2 boards high and 1 board apart

2 boards high and 1 board apart

then I screwed the numbers onto the white boards.

quicker than a screw driver

quicker than a screw driver

I got out the house paint and touched up the area where the old numbers had been.

touch up

touch up

Then stood back to admire my handiwork.

well worth the wait and effort

well worth the wait and effort

This entry was posted in Home Improvment, Household projects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frugal House Numbers

Leave a Reply

