Shrimp Florentine

After posting about my marathon meal preparation I got a request for the Shrimp Florentine recipe.

So here you go Susan,

The original recipe came from this Better Homes & Garden cookbook.

50 cents at St. Vincent de Paul

50 cents at St. Vincent de Paul

However I made a few adjustments.

1 lb. frozen chopped spinach

2 Tablespoons water

1/4 cup chopped onion

2 Tablespoons butter

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

1 lb. cooked shrimp

4 Tablespoons butter

3 Tablespoons flour

1/8 teaspoon garlic powder

2/3 cup chicken broth

1/2 cup heavy cream

1 Tablespoon lemon juice

1/3 cup sliced almonds-toasted

2 Tablespoons grated parmesan cheese

I dug the onion from the garden IMG_1859Sauté the onion 2 tablespoons butter until it starts to get brown.IMG_1871

meanwhile cook the spinach according to package directions. Cool, squeeze out excess water.

add spinach, salt and nutmeg to sautéed onions.

melt 4 tablespoons butter in microwave, stir in flour and garlic powder, add cream and chicken broth. Cook in microwave until thickened stirring often. Add Lemon juice.IMG_1874

( I used homemade chicken broth and some left-over heavy cream I had in the freezer)IMG_1869

Toast almonds on cookie sheet in toaster oven.IMG_1852

mix, spinach, shrimp and cream sauce together and put in 9×9 casserole dish. Sprinkle with toasted almonds and parmesan cheese.IMG_1877

bake in toaster oven 30 minutes at 350 degreesIMG_1885

here’s the original recipe:IMG_1855I paid $5.99 for the shrimp and a dollar something for the spinach. everything else I have on hand as staples. So I estimate this is about $2/serving. Not the MOST   frugal but certainly good for a shrimp meal.

Try it and let me know what you think.

This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shrimp Florentine

  1. Susan says:

    Thank you so much for remembering! I love spinach and shrimp and will be making it tomorrow (Saturday). It will be very frugal for me – was gifted a bag of shrimp from a kind neighbor who doesn’t care for it, and wasn’t sure how to cook it – her son bought extra and thought he would give her a treat. I’m going to share the dish with her – she did think it sounds tasty – as do I.
    Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

