5 Frugal Things

Its been POURING down rain outside. A good time to catch up on indoor projects but first, this needed to be fixed:down spout

It was an easy fix even if my camera and I did get soaked.

the white blob is a raindrop on the lens

the white blob is a raindrop on the lens

I came it to dry out and warm up with a cup of tea because November has arrived and I still have not turned on the furnace. thermostatMy goal each year is to turn off the furnace May 1st and leave it off until November. Most often on both ends of that time period there are days I turn the furnace on “just to take the chill out of the air”. I’ve avoided even that this fall.

My second-hand shadow striped sheet wore out this summer torn sheet 0343so I made a replacement fitted sheet from a King Sized flat sheet from Deseret Industries. $6 DI sheet

I cut the sheet down first, to make a piece of fabric 26 inches longer and wider than my mattress top. Then I sewed box corners and hemmed it. The final step was to insert elastic on the corners.

new sheet

A break in the rain invited me out for a walk in the park. As I passed the school I saw that the dumpster was overflowing. Mostly holiday decorations, old trophies, broken desks, but this caught my eye.dumpster find I’m hoping it will work as a stand for my bird feeder.bird feeder But if not it will make a great plant stand.

Up until recently the only time I wore scarves was on cold winter days. I never wore them as a fashion accessory, but for some reason my taste have changed. The last time I was at Goodwill this  one caught my eye.SCARF $2.99 (less 30% green tag special.

Recap:

  1. DIY downspout repair
  2. no furnace yet
  3. homemade fitted sheet
  4. Dumpster dived stand
  5. $2.10 Goodwill scarf

Now it’s your turn. I’d like to hear about your frugal ways too.

This entry was posted in Dumpster Diving, Five Frugal Things, Household projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5 Frugal Things

  1. Carol Pavlik says:

    Good morning. Not sure how I found your blog, but find it very good reading. My husband is a dumpster diver and I never know what he will bring home. I have been known to stop for items in someone’s trash. I think you have to have a creative eye to see potential. I am a 70 year old woman living in ohio upper part. We have a wood stove that helps keep the house warm sometimes too warm. Our furnace is propane and expensive to run so we try to nurse it. And I think it is healthier to be a little cold. Keep writing and I will keep readingn

Leave a Reply

