Chrispy Mandarin Pork

You may remember my recent 50 cent Cookbook acquisition.

I shared the Shrimp Florentine recipe from it.

As I thumbed through the bargain books it was this picture that made me put the book  in my basket.crispy pork

I love Chinese Restaurants. This picture made me feel I could achieve a restaurant quality dish at home.

It was delicious. I’m not a fan of peppers so I omitted them.

my version

my version

Frying is always messy, but well worth it. Next time I’ll try it with rice sticks. I’ve never made them before. The left over are almost as good as the original meal but the breading on the pork is now soggy and the oranges all but disappeared in the freeze- thaw process. With my eating style I’m used to this kind of thing.

If you want to make it too here’s the recipe:

Crispy Mandarin Pork

rice sticks or long grain rice

shortening or oil for deep-fat frying

1/2 cup “Biscuit Mix”

1/4 cup corn starch

1 tablespoon sesame seeds

1 egg white

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 lb. boneless pork cut into 3/4″ cubes

1-11 oz. can mandarin oranges

2 medium carrots, thinly bias-sliced

1/3 cup catsup

1/4 cup sugar

2 tablespoons vinegar

1 teaspoon instant chicken bouillon granules

2 medium green peppers, cut into 3/4 inch pieces

Fry rice sticks in hot oil (375 degrees) about 5 seconds or until sticks puff and rise. Drain and keep warm (or cook rice according to package directions)

Stir together biscuit mix, 2 tablespoons of cornstarch and sesame seeds. Combine egg white, soy sauce, and 1/4 cup water, add to dry ingredients. Stir in pork.  Fry pork in hot oil (365 degrees) for 2-3 minutes. Keep warm.

Drain oranges, reserving liquid. In a 4 cup glass measure add enough water to equal 1-1/4 cups. Add carrots, microwave for 5-6 minutes until crisp-tender.

For sauce, combine catsup, sugar, remaining cornstarch, vinegar, and bouillon. Add catsup mixture and green peppers to carrot mixture, microwave on high 4-5 minutes until bubbly stirring every minute. Stir in orange sections. Microwave 1 additional minute. Serve pork and sauce over rice sticks or rice.

How do you say Bon Appetit in Chinese?

What’s your favorite Chinese Food?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

