Happy Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is a purely American holiday. I know I have readers in other countries but being thankful knows no political boundaries. So no matter where you live take time today to give thanks.

Every year I’m charged with bringing pie to the family feast. This year I made two 10″ pies. Cherry-Cranberry Pie.cherry pie

and Pumpkin Pie

Pumpkin Pie

It should come as no surprise that I did not buy canned pumpkin for my pies. In June my friend Skye offered me a pumpkin start. pumpkin day 1 - CopyI harvested 3 pumpkins (there were more that I didn’t wait for to ripen)pumpkin harvest

As is there is enough pumpkin puree in my freezer for a year’s supply of pumpkin soup, pumpkin bread, pumpkin scones, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin this and pumpkin that.

Happy Thanks Giving everyone.

 

This entry was posted in DIY, Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Carol Pavlik says:

    Pumpkins were really expensive around here. The people up the road pulled a trailer full by the road and sold them three for five dollars. Big ones too. I brought one in meaning to cook it for pies, etc. But I do so hate scraping the guts out. And even though there is supposed to be a pumpkin shortage you can buy the canned easy enough. I just learned this year that deer love pumpkins so I think I will put them at the back of our property.

    • Scraping out the guts is my lest favorite part, but I get so much satisfaction from DIY that I’m willing to deal with the messy stuff. Deer haven’t been a problem but so many houses are being built around me taking away their habitat they may become a problem in the future. Rabbits were never a problem until 10 years ago when a BIG construction project made them move into my back yard.

Leave a Reply

