Big Meal Prep Day

A few days ago I showed you my January groceries and promised to tell you how I used them.

The stockpile in my freezer was down to just burritos and corn chowder. Wanting more variety in my menus I decided it was time for another big day in the kitchen.

I had a major set back. The first thing on my list was to make a batch of chocolate syrup. I had a Pyrex dish that I thought was safe to use on my glass stove top. WRONG! Every thing was OK, I was almost finished when I wanted to speed things up and turned up the heat. PING went the Pyrex. Glass shattered. Chocolate syrup flowed EVERYWHERE. Including between the panels of the oven door.chocolatey oven door

I looked on YouTube and found several videos on how to clean the inside of a oven door but by the time I cleaned and reassembled the door, cleaned up the stove top, washed my chocolatey clothes and mopped the floor, I was in no mood to do anymore in the kitchen that day.

The following day things went more smoothly.

I had a package of marked down pork in the freezer I put it in the crock pot with some BBQ sauce. The BBQ sauce was marked down too.

59C bbq 59 cents

I used the  BBQ pork in a sandwich and the rest I ate over rice.bbq pork over rice

foarming

I used Frugal Girl’s recipe to make fish patties, but I decreased the mustard and Seafood seasoning. I used a thrifted Tupperware burger press to form my patties. Now I can thaw one at a time to make my own Fishwiches.fishwich

I made a batch of Meatloaf mini meat loafsbut I baked it in mini loaf pans.

IMG_3152When I pull one from the freezer I can eat it heated with gravy

IMG_3151or as a meatloaf sandwich.

IMG_3162In order to satisfy my sweet tooth I made a loaf of Pumpkin bread

Check back and I’ll give you my recipes for Italian Meat Sandwiches, Macaroni & Cheese, and  my version of Hawaiian Pizza.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in cooking, DIY, Frugality for Singles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

