Hawaiian Pizza

IMG_3145I realize that Hawaiian Pizza is the “Twinkie” of the pizza world.

Simple and sweet, with a chewy crust that’s the way I like my pizza.

Crust:

I make a batch of bread dough, I’ve used several basic recipes, any of them work.

I add 1/4 C. parmesan cheese, 2 T. minced onion flakes and 1 T. Italian seasoning.

After mixing the dough I divide it into 1-1/4# portions, wrap in plastic and freeze them.

Pizza: When I want pizza I thaw one of the dough balls.pizza ready to assemble

Roll it out to a 12″ circle, transfer to pizza pan.

Top with sliced mushrooms, sliced olives, pineapple tidbits, Canadian bacon and mozzarella cheese.

Bake at 450 degrees for 18 minutes.

My FRUGAL techniques and methods:

I buy Canadian Bacon ends and pieces. It is 50 cents a pound cheaper than the sliced stuff. I then dice it and bag up 2 oz. portions.

I buy whatever pineapple I can get the best price on. If it’s bigger pieces I cut them down myself. (I save the juice to use when I make smoothies)

I keep black olives in the pantry for several of my regular meals so rather than buying the tiny cans of sliced olives I take the time to slice my own.

I buy a 5# bag of mozzarella cheese at Cash and Carry (a restaurant supply store, but open to the public). I keep the bag in the freezer. The shreds freeze together but are pretty easy to break apart when I need a little.

I bought my perforated pizza pan at a thrift store many years ago. Likewise my pizza cutter.

What’s you favorite pizza flavor?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in cooking, DIY, recipes, single living frugal style and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

