My macaroni & cheese

I base my macaroni and cheese on this recipe.

FAMILY STYLE MACARONI & CHEESE

1/2 Cup diced, spam, salmon or tuna

1/4 Cup chopped onions

1/8 Cup chopped green pepper

2 Tablespoons butter

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1/2 cup milk

1-1/2 cup shredded cheddar

3 cups cooked macaroni (1-1/2 cups raw)

1/4 cup buttered bread crumbs

Lightly brown spam, onion and green pepper in butter.

Stir in soup, milk and 1 cup of cheese. Heat until the cheese melts. Blend sauce with macaroni. Pour into casserole dish. Mix together bread crumbs and remaining cheese. Sprinkle on top. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Serves 4

 

FRUGAL SPINSTER’s method/technique.

I don’t care for peppers so I usually leave them out

(BUT when my friend moved to NYC she gave me the perishables she had in her fridge which included a red, yellow and green pepper. So I chopped and froze them and little by little I’m using them up.)

About once a year I buy a ham. After roasting it for one meal I portion up 1cup chopped ham to use in future recipes and freeze it.

I use ham in this recipe. I add 3 oz. cream cheese. This time I had a dab of cheese spread and I threw that in too.

We serve cream of mushroom soup at the bakery I work at. Anything left in the pot at the end of the night would get thrown out unless employees  want to take it home. The decorating shift is early morning but occasionally I find the night crew has saved the soup for me. I use that instead of the canned soup.

I don’t butter my bread crumbs but I do add a little garlic or celery powder.

This recipe made me 7 portions. 6 went in the freezer.IMG_3147.JPG

 

This entry was posted in cooking, recipes, single living frugal style and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My macaroni & cheese

  1. This looks good. My kids love home made mac n cheese! I’ll share a secret with you! Instead of bread crumbs, try topping it with crumbled Cheeze It’s. It’s SOOOOO very good! Lobster is also a great add if you want to get real serious. I posted a recipe for doing this. If you’re interested you can find me at insidekelskitchen.wordpress.com. Have a great day!

    • generally I don’t have processed snacks like Cheese Its in the house, but it does sound good. As for Lobster, it isn’t in my frugal budget at all, but again sounds wonderful. mmm mmm

      • I usually don’t keep snacks like that around either, but trust me it’s good! I only get the lobster when it’s on sale and you really don’t need much. Last Valentines Day we decided to dinner with our friends. I volunteered to do the cooking if they chipped in some $$$. This made the lobster Mac n cheese and oysters affordable!

  2. Sharing the cost of a special dinner with friends.Good idea!

Leave a Reply

