Italian Meatball Sandwiches-AFS twist

As a single, sandwiches work well in my menu plans. Paninis, fishwhich and this recipe show up frequently.

Italian Meatball Sandwich (original recipe)

1 1/2#lean ground beef

1/2# ground pork

2 eggs

1/2 cup bread crumbs

1/2 Cup parmesan cheese

1/4 cup chopped parsley

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 package spaghetti mix with mushrooms

1 Tablespoon butter

1 cup tomato sauce

1/2 cup water

8 round French rolls

Mix meat, eggs, bread crumbs, parmesan cheese, parsley, salt and 1/2 the packet of spaghetti mix. Form into meatballs, brown, remove meatballs and discard fat. Combine remaining spaghetti mix, tomato sauce and water. heat, return meatballs, cover, simmer 25 minutes.

Split and butter rolls. Wrap in foil and warm in 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. Arrange 5-6 meatballs per roll, add a spoonful of sauce sprinkle with parmesan cheese.

Serves 8

 

How I make it FRUGAL:

I make patties rather than meatballs (they stay in the bun much better meaning less mess and waste) IMG_8669

IF possible I purchase my ground meat from the MARK-DOWN Bin.

I use hoagie rolls (FREE day old from work)

I don’t butter the bread (saves money and calories)

*I get FREE free-range organic eggs from my sister’s chickens.

I use this Tomato sauce and leave out the spaghetti mix.

(When I use the spaghetti mix I leave out the salt.)

I cook them in the electric skillet I inherited from my aunt.

I make my own bread crumbs.

I use cheap cheese in the meat but the good stuff sprinkled on top.

IMG_8675I freeze the patties with a little sauce so I can make sandwiches up one at a time.

I label all leftovers I put in the freezer with a masking tape label. Then I make a note of what, when and how much is in the freezer. As I use a frozen meal I remove the tape and stick it to the note. When the note is full I know my freezer stock is depleted. Until I came up with this tracking system I never knew what was in the freezer or how long it had been there.

*in the winter the hens slow production WAY down so I do have to buy about 1 dozen eggs a year.

 

 

This entry was posted in cooking, Frugality for Singles, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

