5 Frugal Things

  1. My neighbors are taking their 9 month old daughter to meet her father’s relatives in India. I’m dog sitting while they are away. I get companionship (I miss Glory so much), needed exercise and they are paying me.hope sitting
  2. I found this designer blouse in the 50 cent bin at St. Vinney’s.IMG_24kardashian blouse98 Excellent fit 🙂 , good quality 🙂 , strange design element on the sleeves 😦 odd sleeveI removed the sleeves and recut them using a basic pattern.IMG_3224sleeve recutIt may not be a “Designer Look” but I’m very happy with the results.finished
  3. I’m keeping the thermostat at 65 degrees. thermostatI tend to be a cold body but by dressing in layers I’m comfortable most of the time. If whatever I’m doing allows, I use a lap blanket and if I still  feel chilly I wear my beret even in the house.
  4. One day last week my schedule was jam packed and I was sorely tempted to stop for a fast food dinner, but I grabbed something from home instead.
  5. A new doctor has joined the staff at my dentist’s office. Dr. Philip has just completed school and to give her practice with oral surgery the office is offering dental implants at a $1000 dollar  discount. I have retained baby teeth that will sooner or later need to be replaced by implants so I’m taking advantage of the “introductory price” and having the work done now.

How about you, what frugal things did you do this week?

This entry was posted in Five Frugal Things and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5 Frugal Things

  1. susan says:

    Hello again,
    I’m having quite the frugal week myself !
    They are redoing a major motel that I pass when I go into town and on a trip, I saw piles of bedspreads, curtains and end tables just thrown in a pile.
    On my way back, I stopped, and was told to help myself. I called a friend, who called a friend and together we cleaned up.
    I now have matching end tables that have the lamps built in, with glass table tops. After some cleaning, they look brand new – even the shades cleaned up! They even have a box type bottom – perfect for magazines, my crocheting, etc. Lucky enough – they match all my other pieces.
    After puzzling over the curtains and spreads, we decided they would be cut into pieces and turned into lap quilts for our local VA hospital and the 2 nursing homes we visit. This is a work in progress 🙂
    And my best frugal? Our church made turkey pot pie, and after cooking the turkeys, were tossing the carcass of both.
    I gladly took them home, cut them smaller, boiled the bones and got 8 quarts of broth, plus another 3 quarts of meat ! All for free. I’ve ground up some for turkey burgers and meat loaf, and will be making turkey pot pie out of the rest – I’m thinking at least 3 or 4.
    Oh almost forgot, found a great stool / hassock in the free motel pile as well. Needs recovered but am going to try and puzzle it out.
    We had record breaking cold and snow here (30+ inches, with below zero temps !!) so my thermostat isn’t as low as I’d like. I live on the ground floor so anything below 67 or 68, my place stays very cold.
    I’m glad to be back commenting and your posts are as wonderful as ever. Had a bit of chest type illness but am back in the swing of things.
    PS – your blouse turned out just lovely !

  2. Wow Susan, it would be tough for anyone to beat your frugal activity I’m glad to hear you’re sharing the hotel bounty with others.

Leave a Reply

