Failed Refashion

After being inspired by a post I saw on E How I went searching for a sweater to refashion into a skirt. I found this cashmere sweater at Deseret Industries.  frumpy skirtAlthough I love the soft texture and the subtle earth tones, (the brown stripe is a perfect match to a turtleneck I already own)IMG_7081it just didn’t work for me as a skirt.  The  only redeeming factor is it was warm and comfortable. Calling it frumpy would be a understatement.

It was in the DONATE box in the garage when I saw this post by Accidental Seamstress. I pulled the sad skirt from the garage and refashioned my refashion.

It was as easy as

shape top

cut

serge

serge

 

wear

wear

 

I now love the soft texture and subtle earth tones of my new, warm, and comfortable beanie.

BONUS it matches my brown turtleneck.

So it wasn’t a FAIL after all.

This entry was posted in refashion, Sewing, thrift store shopping, Trash to Treasure, upcycle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Failed Refashion

  1. vintage51 says:

    Reblogged this on vintagethrifter51.com and commented:
    Great rescue of a fail. I liked it as a skirt, but even better as a beanie. Well done. Cheers, Michele

  2. lilimounce says:

    I love the beanie much more than the skirt for you. Good save!

  3. I’m not very fashion conscience at all but I felt like a sack of potatoes wearing that shirt.

  4. Thanks for the shout out. The beanie looks great!

  5. Carol Pavlik says:

    Very clever. I have turned sweaters into forever scarves but never thought of a beanie. That will be my next project. Love your blog, and now I will check out Accidental Seamstress.

Leave a Reply

