Ham Vegetable Casserole

I started buying Better Homes and Gardens cookbooks almost as soon as I began thrifting. I have quite a collection and many of my favorite recipes come from them. IMG_4377

Today’s Ham and Vegetable Casserole has a gold star pasted next to it so it must be good.star

I admit I neglect to eat as many vegetables as I should. Thumbing through Good Food on a Budget, I thought this would be a good recipe to try. It would use the leftover ham from my freezer and include vegetables in my diet.

IMG_3795Ham and Vegetable Casserole

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/4 cup butter

1/3 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

dash of pepper

1 tablespoon prepared mustard

1 1/2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

1 (16oz) can tomatoes, cut u

1 (14 oz.) can evaporated milk

4 cups cubed fully cooked ham

3 (10 oz.) packages of frozen mixed vegetables, cooked and drained

1 1/2 cups soft bread crumbs

2 tablespoons melted butter.

In a saucepan cook the onion in 1/4 cup butter until tender but not brown. Blend in flour, salt, pepper, mustard, and Worcestershire sauce. Add tomatoes and milk. Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly Remove from heat; stir in ham and vegetables. Turn into 9×13 baking dish. Combine bread crumbs with melted butter; sprinkle on top of casserole. Bake at 350 degrees about 30 minutes. Serves 12

I didn’t have a full 4 cups of ham but just used what I had, I didn’t measure. I boiled a couple of carrots, used canned corn and frozen peas instead of the frozen vegie mix.

I used the tomatoes I froze last summer and dried instead of soft bread crumbs.

It is indeed a tasty casserole It would be even better if it had the full 4 cups of ham in it.

Do you have a favorite Ham Casserole?

 

 

This entry was posted in cooking, Frugality for Singles, recipes, single living frugal style and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

