April Thrift Report 5

The toaster oven and microwave are important tools in my kitchen. I use them daily to reheat my meals from the stockpile in the freezer.

Recently the on-off knob on my toaster oven developed a short. At first I was able to make it work by jiggling it a bit as I turned it on. Then one day there was nothing I could do to convince the oven to reheat my burrito.

I weighed my options: buy a new oven (pricey), have mine repaired (still expensive), try to do the repair myself (finding parts might be a problem)

I’m not keen on appliances from the thrift store. They are often dirty and you may end up with something that should have gone in the garbage.

I came across one that looked good at St.Vincent de Paul. This store also features free bread, free breadso before purchasing the toaster oven I gave it a test runtest station_4211

it was in good working order and at $5.99 it was less that a repair bill or even replacement parts, so I made the purchase.

My Thrifty purchases are usually under $5 so this haul at $18.17 was very unusual4-26-16 svdp $18.17

I also got a spare bowl for my salad spinner, some lace, a pattern,

a Peanut feeder that has been approved by both squirrels and jays

and a mini laundry basket to use on the Oregon Trail.

At Goodwill  3-30-16 GW $ - 5.39Copy

I found red gingham to make a shirt for my Oregon Trail Laundry,gingham turned shirta travel mug to use at work so I don’t spill coffee on my cakes and more doll clothes patterns.

That does it for my April Thrift Report.

 

This entry was posted in Bird watching, Doll Clothes, Oregon Trail Big Day, Second Hand Shopping, Sewing, thrift store shopping, thrifty haul and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

