Five Frugal Things

IMG_4732home made crutons1.I made croutons from day old bread I brought home from work.

2. I made a nesting material wreath with chicken wire and Glory’s hair. Nesting materials at the Wild Bird store sell for $4. My chickadees are happy with the dog fur. This one took such a big load its hard to see it in the picture.

3.I’ve been harvesting my spinach. Some has gone in the freezer but I’m really enjoying it in breakfast burritos.

3.$7.80 profit4. I sold another cold pack canner on Craig’s List. $7.80 profit.

2.IMG_45235. I bought Dollar Store graham crackers and made frosting sandwiches with bakery frosting. (Each time I make a cake delivery I take along extra frosting in case I need to make repairs. I go straight home after the delivery and usually its several days before I go back to work. We wouldn’t want that frosting to go to waste would we?)

Now, its your turn what frugal things have you been up to?

 

This entry was posted in Five Frugal Things and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Five Frugal Things

  1. lilimounce says:

    That was one of my kids’s favorite treats — frosting on graham crackers. After a birthday, there would always be leftover frosting, some in piping bags. I’d pipe their names on the graham crackers, or make teddy bears. They loved it. I hadn’t thought about that in years.
    Also, when we run out of clearance priced chocolate for s’mores, we use chocolate frosting on the grahams with roasted marshmallows.

    I bought eggs at Cash & Carry this morning for 59 cents/dozen, in a 15-dozen case. Repackaged into saved egg cartons. Bought 3 gallons of 2% milk at Bartell’s yesterday, marked down to $1 each. Froze some of it. Making granola and chocolate syrup, to use some of it this weekend.

  2. Cathy says:

    I love the idea of a nesting material wreath. Any other items that could be incorporated into it and is there a preferred location to hang this?

    • I’ve tried offering the birds other things; thread, yarn, down (from a thrifted 50cent jacket)but they seem to like the dog fur best. I see birds at the park picking up dog fur from the trail too.
      I have the wreath hanging on the fence on the south side of my property, I chose there so I can see it from the kitchen or the back porch.

  3. Carol says:

    We have found bird nests with bright blue strings from tarps. Birds are very smart. When I have day old bread I like to make “mock cheese souffle”. Cut up bread, cheese milk egg salt and pepper. A savory change from bread pudding.

Leave a Reply

