Five Frugal Things

5 frugal food things to be specific

free pile1. I found a dog gate in a FREE pile. Although it is in its original box, the gate was smashed to pieces. (They must have had a very powerful dog) I did salvage 2 metal grids I plan to use as a pea trellis next spring. (too late for this years crop)

Kira's trout2.My friend Kira came back from a camping trip and gave me two trout. DELICIOUS!

free ban & grp3.My sister volunteered at a food stop for a bike race and came back with grapes and bananas. I ate the grapes and froze the bananas for banana bread and or smoothies.

Found Onion4.I picked up a perfectly good onion off the street.

home made BBQ Sauce5. I made my own BBQ sauce. I reused my empty BBQ bottle to store it.

Do you have any Frugal things you want to boast about?

This entry was posted in Five Frugal Things and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five Frugal Things

  1. Carol Pavlik says:

    Cannot offer anything except did not throw away any food, which is unusual on trash night. Loved the onion on the street. I would do the same!

  2. Carol says:

    I do have a frugal thing: making crumbs. Someone opened two packs of savory crackers. The humidity did the rest. I crushed them to top a future casserole. Two opened boxes of not so good cereal. Crushed with some brown sugar added for a future fruit crisp. Does that count as two?

  3. I love your idea for crisp topping. good job!

Leave a Reply

