Me and My Arrow

My last thrift report featured a doggie gate. Well, meet Arrow, the reason I needed a gate.

How did she get her name you ask?:

The second time we meet with the breeders they let us play with two puppies. I noticed one of them had a distinct white triangle on her neck. We had been trying to think of a name for our pup and when I saw that marking it reminded me of an arrow. I asked my sister what do you think of “Arrow”? We both spontaneously broke into song singing Nilsson’s 1970 hit Me and my Arrow. From that point on there was no further discussion about names.

A few weeks later the puppy was old enought to go to her new home. We didn’t get to choose a puppy, the breeders chose owners for the puppies. We requested a sable female, but until the day we picked her up we didn’t know who we would get. On October 26th we went to pick up our new puppy. The breeder handed us Arrow. (to this day I don’t know if she paired us with that dog because she heard us singing or if it was just chance.)

If I haven’t already told you; my sister and I decided to get a dog to share. We both have lots going on in our lives but decided that if we shared a dog we could each benifit and neither of us would be tied down by the responsibility of complete dog ownership. So we have a time-share dog.

 

She is now 4 months old and its amazing how fast she’s grown. As she is getting her adult fur the Arrow marking isn’t noticeable like it was when she just had puppy fur.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Arrow, family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Me and My Arrow

  1. lauralynne says:

    What a cute puppy! Congratulations on your new family member. 🙂

  2. Thank you, she’s a real joy.

Leave a Reply

