Quick and Tender Homemade Hamburger Buns

I know I said I wouldn’t be getting my 52 recipes from the internet but…

I usually buy burger buns, because they aren’t as filling as homemade bread. I like the ones with onion on top. img_7358I’ve been hoping to find for a recipe that will replicate that store bought texture.

Jami at An Oregon Cottage boasts such a recipe. So I chose it as the first of my 52 recipes.

I did just as Jami instructed but,  she just eye balled the size of her her buns, I portioned mine out to 3 3/8 oz. per bun. (next time I think I’ll make them a little smaller) I also dipped the top of the bun in instant onion flakes before baking.

Recipe evaluation:

It truly is a quick easy recipe. My onion flake idea doesn’t replicate the store bought ones. Most of my buns have too much onion and the onion is a little bitter.

To use the buns I made Salmon Burgers. Working on resolution #1 at the same time, I used a can of salmon from the pantry. img_7353salmon-burger

The following day I pulled a burger patty from the freezer, to make a Bacon Cheeseburger.img_7359-bacon-burger

If you’re looking for a hamburger bun recipe go check out Jami’s blog. These are REALLY good.

My next recipe will come from the Maine Jubilee Cookbook. I received this book from my pen pal when I was in Jr. High.

This entry was posted in baking, eat yourself out of house & home, new year's resolutions, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick and Tender Homemade Hamburger Buns

  1. Jami says:

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying these – thanks for linking to my site!

  2. lauralynne says:

    Yum! Did you link up at Frugal Gifl? I thought I saw a comment about onion rolls. They look delicious. I made vegetable soup using a new recipe this week. It was tasty.

Leave a Reply

