Mega- Thrifting

I took advantage of the MLK day sales and spent the whole day thrifting. In 6 hours I traveled 35 mile, visited 10 stores and spent $49.06.

So what did I purchase?mlk-haul

I bought 4- 99 cent sweaters at Goodwill. 2 of them were donated to the Union Gospel Mission along with socks, emergency ponchos and shaving cream.for-ugm I recently saw a youtube video on upcycling sweaters into mittens. I used the green sweater to make 3 hats and 2pair of mittens. These also were donated to UGM.img_7551

Even though I don’t need any more polar fleece, I’m a sucker for a good deal. I picked up three pieces in colors that will compliment colors and patterns I already have. They were half price I HAD to get them.img_7497Arrow is 5 months old now and we have started Obedience School. One of the things we need for class is a Long Lead. I found a purse handle at St. Vincent de Paul for 50 cents that I sewed onto some webbing (from a previous thrifting excursion). They cost $35 retail, mine came to $1.50 and took an half hour at the most to make.leash-makins_7460She also got a toothbrush, tooth paste and a travel water dish.for-arrow

At the pet store tooth paste is $8.99 and the bowl is $3.99.

I kept a navy blue sweater for myself I also found a pair of pants,  NEW with tags originally marked $26.00. I paid $6.00.pants

In the near future I hope to make both pants and shorts from this bolt of light blue brushed denim $8.00, I COULDN’T pass it up. img_7476There’s probably enough fabric for a third project as well

As if it hadn’t already been a productive day I found 26 cents too. A quarter at Value Village and a penny at Goodwill.

found-26cents

Do you take advantage of SALE DAYS at the thrift stores?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Arrow, DIY, found money, refashion, Second Hand Shopping, Sewing, thrift store shopping, thrifty fixes, thrifty haul, Trash to Treasure, upcycle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mega- Thrifting

  1. Cathy says:

    Arrow is a beautiful puppy, good luck with obedience training!

  2. She’s doing well but always talks in class. In the middle of the instruction she gets so fidgety we have to ask for a “hall pass” and go outside to take care of business.

  3. Seriously – a whole bolt of fabric!!!! (Your pup looks adorable!)

Leave a Reply

