Frugal Gift Giving

This week I had two gift giving occasions; my friend Kira moved into a new apartment, and I took a hostess gift to Jerry & Monika’s when they hosted a Bible class.

For both occasions I went shopping in my pantry, which is full of homemade preserves, made expressly for this purpose. I’m always on the look out for unique recipes so my gifts will  be more interesting than what you would typically buy from a grocery store.

Jerry & Monika’s hostess gift included: Salmonberry Jam, Dandelion Jelly, Blackberry-Basil Jam and Raspberry-Peach Jam.

Kira’s Housewarming gift: Blackberry Syrup, Dill Relish and Christmas Jam.

I didn’t have boxes that were the right sizes so modified what I had to serve the purpose.

img_7986

from this

img_7988

to this

I used the same thrifted,”All-purpose” gift wrap on both packages, (There was no chance of the two recipients seeing the other’s gift.) My gift tags were handmade by simply layering the gift wrap with red & white paper.img_7991

I’m always on the lookout for gender neutral, all-occasion gift wrap while thrifting so when a gift giving occasion arises I can shop from my stash instead of the Hallmark store. I do the same with ribbon, my collection includes of just about any color imaginable.

As for the preserves, I did have to purchase pectin and sugar. Jars, lids and labels were all thrifted. Most of the produce was free for the picking, either growing wild or from the garden (for these gifts peaches and cranberries were purchased). The cost of those ingredients spread over the number of gifts I’ve given makes each gift monetarily inexpensive but comparable to high-end gourmet treats.

Please share your frugal gift giving ideas in a comment.

 

 

This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, crafts, DIY, Gardening, Jams & Jellies, Second Hand Shopping, thrifty fixes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Frugal Gift Giving

  1. carolee says:

    Isn’t it satisfying to give away a bit of ones self? I do the same, but you have inspired me to start the wrapping bit. I usually just put them in a thrift shop basket or gift bag. Love the gift tag.

  2. Lili says:

    Those look and sound lovely, Frugal spinster. Please share your jam recipes, especially the raspberry peach. that sounds like it was pretty, as well as tasty!

  3. lauralynne says:

    I like to give homemade jam as a hostess gift, too. Great idea to shorten the box — I tend to forget about that option!

  4. Sissy MacK says:

    You share such great ideas! I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award. https://sissymack.wordpress.com/2017/03/07/just-wow/

Leave a Reply

