7 Frugal Things

I recently went to the east coast on vacation. It was decidedly not frugal. However it would have been worse if not for these 7 frugal things.

I sought out travel guides at the thrift stores prior to leaving.thrifted guide to Boston

I used my deceased brothers “Sky Miles” and bus pass to cover transportation costs. (With the airlines approval)sky miles & Orca

I took a library book along to read.library book

I included a thrifting excursion in my vacation plans.salvation Army I spent a whole $1.12 on sewing supplies and a missionary biography that I’m really enjoying. SA purchace( I read most of it on the flight home and in the airport during a 3 hour layover.)

I have a gift card that was given to me as a gift (two years ago, Starbucks isn’t my favorite coffee) so I used it to buy breakfasts on the trip at no cost to me.Starbucks gift card

I picked up 2 pennies as I was sightseeing in Boston.found pennies

For souvenirs, I brought back a handful of sand* and a few acorns that I collected in the mountains of New Hampshire.sandy souvenier

*I was so taken by the white sand beaches in Florida when I visited there several years ago that I brought home some sand and seashells as a souvenir. That was the beginning of a sand collection with sand from all the places I’ve been.

Please leave a comment telling me how you cut expenses when traveling.

 

 

This entry was posted in Five Frugal Things, Frugal Fun, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 7 Frugal Things

  1. Barbara says:

    For my 60th birthday a couple of my kids took me to the north rim of the Grand Canyon. We rented a cabin in the park and ate for days off no-cook food that we had picked up at a Costco in Las Vegas. We ate only one meal at a restaurant and spent our time taking pictures and hiking. Our souvenirs were things like rocks or pine cones. Priceless memories on the cheap!

  2. It sounds like you had a great FRUGAL time.

  3. Bobi says:

    I just found your blog so I’m a little late commenting but my favorite souvenir is a smashed penny. I always look up locations of machines before I go. Cheap and fun souvenir for .51!
    http://209.221.138.252/AreaList.aspx

Leave a Reply

