Five (or more) Frugal Things

Preparing for the outdoor living season,  I washed and repaired my old eclectic collection of patio furniture instead of purchasing the latest and greatest style.

just needs a screw

just needs a screw

I have some tomatoes that need to be eaten. It’s hot! 80+ degrees! Seattleites melt when the thermometer is that high. I decide a Taco Salad would be an appropriate dinner. After taking the dogs for a walk at the park I stop at Grocery Outlet. Not only do they have good prices but it is right on my way.

Grocery Outlet Bargain Market

Grocery Outlet Bargain Market

I bought ONLY what I need for the salad. groceriesThough I looked at the 99 cent flowers for a long time before walking away.

Next door is a Starbucks

They are literally on every street corner in some areas

They are literally on every street corner in some areas

where I picked up “grounds for the garden” grounds for thegardenThe FREE dirt I got is in need of nutrients so I’m picking up grounds every time I’m near a Starbucks.

I found a penny in the parking lot.

worthless indeed

worthless indeed

Many people consider pennies worthless. It turns out this one was Canadian. So it IS worthless here in the states. In fact the Canadians think all pennies are worthless. They don’t make or use them any longer.

I usually make my Taco meat from scratch but I picked up this “Costco sized” bottle of Taco seasoning at a garage sale for 50 cents. taco meatI think that’s cheaper than scratch.

just Miracle Whip, Catsup and home made dill pickles

just Miracle Whip, Catsup and home made dill pickles

I used my new food processor to make 1000 Island dressing for my salad.taco salad

I froze 12 portions of taco meat for future meals.

I think that makes 6 frugal things. What did you come up with?

This entry was posted in Five Frugal Things and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment