New Recipe #4 Zucchini Bread

When the harvest was in full swing last summer I stored 11 packages shredded zucchini.img_7735

My intention was to use them in my “go-to” recipe for Chocolate Zucchini bread. With my resolution to try 52 new recipes I took advantage of my stockpile to try a new Zucchini Bread recipe.

I searched my cookbooks and file box and decided on this one. recipe-cardA note on the back indicates I got it from KM. KM and I worked together 30 years ago at a fabric store. There is a possibility that I have made this recipe before but I don’t remember it so it qualifies as a NEW recipe. frozen-zuchinni

Zucchini Bread

3 eggs-beaten

1 cup oil

2 cups shredded zucchini

2 cups of sugar

3 cups flour

3 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

3 tsp. cinnamon

1 cup chopped walnuts

1 cup chopped dates

Mix together all ingredients. Bake 1 hour at 325 degrees. Makes 2 loaves.

The simple dump in a bowl technique and tasty flavor are points in this recipes favor. However, the 2 cups of sugar and the dates make it quite SWEET, a little too sweet if that’s possible. That, along with the fact  I don’t regularly have dates on hand mean I’ll probably go back to my old standby Chocolate Zucchini Bread.

This entry was posted in baking, new year's resolutions, recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

